Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticTogoGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Arborify Cookstoves Togo

GS-3997 ↗ · current registry ID: GS12069

#950of 1329 in Industrial#5of 15 in Togo#1378of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.4/ 10
Integrity
4.2
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
3.0
Documentation
5.5

Audit Analysis

The Arborify Cookstoves Togo project has a verified additionality assessment and a functioning grievance mechanism, but is undermined by a material misstatement in reported emissions reductions (initially 14,598 tCO2e revised down to 6,396 tCO2e), delivery of only ~4% of the pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the elapsed monitoring period, and a shift in leakage treatment from a quantified 5% deduction in the PDD to a 0% 'deemed negligible' deduction in the verification report. Multiple corrective actions remain open, and several cross-document contradictions reduce confidence in the data.

Red Flags

  • Material misstatement: initial reported ERs of 14,598 tCO2e were revised to 6,396 tCO2e (a 56% reduction) due to a change in the fNRB calculation tool, as noted in the verification report.
  • Verified emissions reductions of 6,396 tCO2e represent only ~4% of the pro-rata ex-ante expectation (~150,600 tCO2e) for the 17-month monitoring period, attributed to lower-than-planned stove distribution.
  • Leakage treatment shifted from a quantified 5% deduction in the PDD appendix to a 0% 'deemed negligible' deduction in the verification report, with no updated quantitative justification.
  • Usage rate was assumed at 100% in the ex-ante estimate but verified at only 94%, and a CAR requires justification of a further discrepancy (94% vs 84.3%).
  • Seven cross-document contradictions were identified, including conflicting crediting periods, leakage values, and monitoring methods.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2023
3,4773003,177
2024
2,91902,919
Total6,3963006,096

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed but test type not stated

Permanence

no reversal events reported

Leakage

0% deduction, 'deemed negligible'; PDD originally quantified 5%

Baseline

Project-specific baseline; no reassessment date stated

Safeguards

FPIC conducted, grievance mechanism present

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-10General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents