Skip to main content
CDMBiomass EnergyColombiaACM0003

CEMEX Colombia: Biomass project at Caracolito cement plant.

CDM-1790 ↗

#76of 352 in Biomass#43of 124 in Colombia#658of 1459 in CDM (UNFCCC)#3of 6 in ACM0003

5.2/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
4.5
Documentation
6.0

Audit Analysis

A CDM biomass energy project at a CEMEX cement plant with VVB-confirmed additionality and no reversal risk, but undermined by a project-specific baseline, a grid emission factor from 2006, numerous material findings questioning baseline validity and monitoring completeness, and a verified ERR that covers only about 29% of the pro-rata expectation for the elapsed monitoring period. The project is functional but carries moderate over-crediting risk and documentation gaps.

Red Flags

  • Verified ERR of 21,009 tCO2e for the 6-month monitoring period is only ~29% of the pro-rata expectation (~73,400 tCO2e) derived from the 1,467,987 tCO2e lifetime PDD estimate, suggesting the ex-ante baseline may be overly optimistic or the project is underperforming
  • Multiple material findings in the verification report question the validity of the baseline scenario (Scenario 1: continuation of current practice), the prevailing practice barrier, and whether fossil fuel costs were truly affected by the new biomass investment
  • Grid emission factor of 0.439 tCO2/MWh is from 2006 and has not been updated, potentially overstating the displacement benefit
  • Leakage is described as 'quantified' in the verification report but the actual deduction percentage is not stated in any available document
  • Crediting period dates differ between the 2008 validation report (2008-07-01 to 2018-06-30) and the 2012 monitoring report (2009-04-01 to 2019-03-31), indicating a period amendment that is not fully transparent in the record

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2012
142,5420142,542
2013
21,010021,010
Total163,5520163,552

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed but material findings question prevailing prac

Permanence

Avoidance-type project; no reversal events reported

Leakage

Described as quantified but deduction percentage not stated

Baseline

Project-specific baseline; grid EF from 2006; validity quest

Safeguards

Safeguards mentioned and benefit sharing described, but FPIC

Double-claim

CORSIA eligibility and CCP status not stated in available do

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-08-27ACM0003

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents