Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticIndiaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Clean Cooking Program in Rural India

GS-4236 ↗ · current registry ID: GS12302

#108of 1329 in Industrial#253of 975 in India#221of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

5.8/ 10
Integrity
6.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
5.5
Documentation
6.0

Audit Analysis

A Gold Standard clean-cooking project in rural India with a VVB-confirmed investment additionality test, a quantified 5% leakage deduction, and conservative under-delivery relative to the pro-rata ex-ante expectation. However, a 12.7-fold discrepancy in the non-renewable energy fraction between the 2023 monitoring report and the 2026 verification report, combined with six or seven genuine cross-document contradictions on safeguards, FPIC, and monitoring method, materially erodes confidence in the data trail. CORSIA eligibility without a stated CCP status introduces dual-channel risk.

Red Flags

  • FNRB value differs by a factor of 12.7 between the 2023 monitoring report (0.892, local field method) and the 2026 verification report (0.07, national default), a discrepancy that directly affects the carbon calculation and is not explained in the extracted record
  • FPIC, safeguards, and benefit-sharing are reported as conducted/described in the 2026 verification report but as not conducted/not described in the 2024 monitoring report, creating uncertainty about when these obligations were actually met
  • CORSIA eligibility is confirmed while CCP status is not stated in any available document, leaving the dual-channel allocation question unresolved
  • Eight corrective action requests were raised during verification (stove stacking in 5–6% of households, usage-rate capping), indicating the project did not meet its own monitoring assumptions on first pass

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2022
4,0874,0870
2023
463,146392,61770,529
2024
43,875043,875
Total511,108396,704114,404

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed investment test

Permanence

reversal risk not explicitly addressed

Leakage

5% quantified deduction

Baseline

Project-specific baseline; reassessment timing not stated

Safeguards

Documented in 2026 report but contradicted by 2024 report

Double-claim

CORSIA-eligible; CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-01General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents