Skip to main content
GSavoidanceMozambiqueVintage 2020 Registry: Certified & creditingAMS-II.G

Efficient and Clean Cooking for Mozambican Low-Income Households

GS-1084 ↗ · current registry ID: GS6155

#119of 150 in Cookstoves#29of 51 in Mozambique#1436of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#151of 189 in AMS-II.G

4.3/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
4.5
Claim Safety
2.5
Documentation
4.0

Audit Analysis

A Gold Standard cookstove project in Mozambique with verified additionality, FPIC, and a quantified 5% leakage deduction, but undermined by a massive gap between the PDD ex-ante estimate (~5.08 million tCO₂e lifetime) and the verified monitoring-period figure (~23,800 tCO₂e), 13 corrective actions raised by the VVB, and reversal risk that is explicitly not addressed. The project is delivering roughly 1% of its pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the elapsed monitoring period, raising serious questions about the realism of the original estimate and the project's actual impact.

Red Flags

  • Verified ERR of 23,834 tCO₂e for the 2020–2023 monitoring period is only ~1.1% of the pro-rata expectation derived from the PDD lifetime estimate of 5,075,644 tCO₂e over a 7-year crediting period, indicating either a severely over-optimistic PDD or a major implementation shortfall.
  • Reversal events are explicitly 'not addressed' in the verification report, and no buffer pool percentage is stated — a significant gap for a cookstove project where stoves can break, be lost, or households can revert to traditional cooking.
  • The VVB raised 13 Corrective Action Requests (CARs), 4 Clarifications (CLs), and 1 Further Action Request (FAR), indicating substantial compliance and reporting deficiencies.
  • Low extraction confidence across the document set means key data points may be incomplete or misread, reducing reliability of the overall assessment.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2017
23,83423,725109
2018
26,07626,0760
2019
20,52120,5210
2020
8,1542,0476,107
2021
8,6651,5047,161
2022
8,5361,1657,371
2023
1,95901,959
Total97,74575,03822,707

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

Reversal not addressed

Leakage

5% quantified deduction

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessment timing not stated

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance mechanism, safeguards documented

Double-claim

CORSIA-eligible; CCP status not stated

Where to buy

Marketplaces

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-02AMS-II.G

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents