Skip to main content
GSavoidanceKenyaVintage 2021, 2023 Registry: Certified & creditingGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Efficient and Clean Cooking Stoves For Households in Kenya

GS-1559 ↗ · current registry ID: GS5642

#82of 150 in Cookstoves#76of 157 in Kenya#1016of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.8/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
3.5
Documentation
5.0

Audit Analysis

A Gold Standard cookstove avoidance project in Kenya with VVB-confirmed additionality and a quantified 5% leakage deduction, but weakened by a project-specific modeled baseline, an unaddressed permanence framework, a significant gap between assumed (90%) and verified (72.56%) usage rates, and numerous cross-document contradictions that reduce confidence in the data record.

Red Flags

  • Usage rate assumed at 90% in the validation report but only 72.56% verified in the 2025 monitoring cycle, yet the full claimed ERR of 52,405 tCO2e was verified without reduction — the reconciliation between the lower verified usage and the unchanged credit volume is not explained in the extracted record.
  • FNRB value shows a contradiction of 29 (2025 verification) versus 0.838933 (2024 verification), a factor-of-35 discrepancy that may reflect a unit error or a methodological change not clearly documented.
  • Reversal events are marked as 'not addressed' and no buffer pool percentage is stated, leaving the permanence risk for displaced stoves unquantified.
  • Thirteen cross-document contradictions were identified across leakage justification, ERR figures, FNRB method, FPIC status, safeguards, and benefit sharing, indicating inconsistent reporting over the project's lifetime.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2016
157,226157,2260
2017
278,593278,295298
2018
293,547266,93526,612
2019
277,373273,0844,289
2020
414,682400,82713,855
2021
510,271509,943328
2022
516,426490,58725,839
2023
355,898347,7328,166
2024
62,32661,0801,246
Total2,866,3422,785,70980,633

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed but test type not specified

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

5% quantified deduction, consistent across reports

Baseline

Project-specific modeled baseline, reassessed 2024

Safeguards

FPIC and grievance present, benefit sharing undocumented

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status both not stated

Where to buy

Marketplaces

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-02General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents