Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticEthiopiaAMS-II.G

Energy Efficient Stoves Program - CPA 3

GS-3104 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11149

#822of 1329 in Industrial#17of 36 in Ethiopia#1221of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#131of 189 in AMS-II.G

4.6/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
4.5
Documentation
4.5

Audit Analysis

The Energy Efficient Stoves Program (CPA 3) in Ethiopia has a VVB-verified additionality assessment and a quantified leakage deduction, but is undermined by a large number of unresolved corrective actions, a project-specific baseline with no stated reassessment date, unaddressed reversal risk, and multiple material contradictions in key quantification parameters (FNRB, ex-ante ERR, leakage rate, baseline method). The low extraction confidence and the 3.3× discrepancy in lifetime ex-ante emissions reductions create meaningful uncertainty about whether the 98,921 tCO₂e verified for 2023 is properly grounded.

Red Flags

  • Lifetime ex-ante ERR differs by a factor of 3.3 between the PDD (465,280 tCO₂e) and an appendix (139,584 tCO₂e); if the lower figure is correct, the 2023 verified ERR of 98,921 tCO₂e represents 213% of the pro-rata expectation, indicating potential over-crediting.
  • FNRB value is reported as 76 in the 2024 verification report but 0.76 in the 2023 monitoring report — a 100× discrepancy that cannot be explained by a simple unit conversion and raises questions about the non-renewable fraction of the biomass fuel.
  • Reversal risk (stove durability, replacement, reversion to traditional cooking) is explicitly marked as 'not addressed' in the extracted record, with no buffer pool or permanence mechanism stated.
  • Four corrective action requests (CAR 01–04) and four compliance-level findings (CL 01–04) remain in the verification record, including unresolved issues on baseline SDG impact calculation, stove efficiency parameters, and Gold Standard eligibility demonstration.
  • Leakage deduction is 0.95% in the 2024 verification report but 5% in the 2024 monitoring report — a five-fold difference that materially affects the net credit quantity.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
35,25835,2580
2022
32,76516,02016,745
2023
34,898034,898
Total102,92151,27851,643

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-verified combined test

Permanence

Reversal risk not addressed

Leakage

Quantified but 5× discrepancy between documents

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessment timing not stated

Safeguards

FPIC and grievance mechanism present but inconsistently documented

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-10AMS-II.G

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents