Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticKenyaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

GS10789 GS10791 RVPA-4: Efficient and Clean Cooking for households in Kenya

GS-3453 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11432

#757of 1329 in Industrial#91of 157 in Kenya#1144of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.7/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
4.5
Documentation
4.0

Audit Analysis

This Gold Standard improved-cookstove project in Kenya has the basic structural elements in place — VVB-verified additionality, a quantified 5% leakage deduction, and documented safeguards — but is undermined by an extraordinary volume of material findings (over 60) and corrective actions (over 50) spanning multiple verification cycles, a significant fNRB discrepancy between documents (0.29 vs 0.9188), and an additionality test that appears to have weakened from a combined test to a barrier-only test. The project's claim safety is further complicated by unknown CORSIA and CCP status and a project-specific baseline rather than a jurisdictional one.

Red Flags

  • fNRB value differs by a factor of three between the 2025 validation report (0.29) and the 2026 verification report (0.9188), creating material uncertainty about the correct emission factor and potential over- or under-crediting
  • Over 60 material findings and 50+ corrective actions accumulated across multiple verification and validation cycles, indicating persistent quality-control weaknesses in monitoring and reporting
  • Additionality test type shifted from 'combined' (2021 validation) to 'barrier' only (2026 verification), a weakening of the additionality demonstration
  • CORSIA eligibility and CCP approval status are not stated in any available document, leaving dual-channel risk unassessed
  • 247 stoves were removed from the database for failing quality-control checks and 25 additional stoves were removed for potential double counting in other GHG projects

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
15,01915,0190
2022
44,13943,257882
2023
49,96948,970999
2024
45,96045,042918
2025
18,06717,706361
Total173,154169,9943,160

Risk Indicators

Additionality

Barrier test, VVB-verified, but weakened from combined

Permanence

lower risk for energy efficiency

Leakage

5% quantified deduction applied

Baseline

Project-specific, reassessed 2024, fNRB discrepancy

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit sharing documented

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-02General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents