Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticMalawiAMS-II.G

GS11677 GS11902 Malawi Biomass Energy Conservation Programme CPA 12

GS-3926 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11912

#354of 1329 in Industrial#37of 92 in Malawi#575of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#69of 189 in AMS-II.G

5.2/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
4.8
Documentation
5.5

Audit Analysis

A Gold Standard cookstove project in Malawi with VVB-confirmed additionality, a quantified 5% leakage deduction, and no reported reversal events. However, significant contradictions in the crediting period (8.5 vs 15 years), the ex-ante ERR estimate (38,778 in the PDD vs 1,534,828 in the verification report), and the leakage treatment (quantified vs not addressed) create material uncertainty about the project's credit volume and permanence. The absence of a stated buffer pool and a project-specific baseline further limit confidence in the integrity of the claims.

Red Flags

  • Crediting period contradiction: the monitoring report (2023-07-14) states 2016-10-15 to 2025-03-31 (~8.5 years) while the validation report (2022-07-04) states 2021-10-15 to 2036-10-14 (15 years); neither aligns with the typical 7-year Gold Standard energy-efficiency crediting period
  • Ex-ante ERR in the PDD (38,778, dated 2020-07-08) is roughly 40× lower than the verified ERR (1,534,828, verification report 2023-08-23); the basis for this discrepancy (per-period vs cumulative, project scale-up, or data error) is not clarified in the extracted record
  • Leakage treatment is contradictory: the verification report (2023-08-23) records a quantified 5% deduction, but a later-dated appendix (2024-03) indicates leakage was not addressed
  • The verification report is dated 2023-08-23 yet the stated monitoring period is 2024-01-01 to 2024-12-31, creating a temporal inconsistency that undermines confidence in the MRV chain

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
41,163041,163
2022
19,480019,480
Total60,643060,643

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed investment test

Permanence

crediting period disputed

Leakage

5% quantified deduction

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessment timing not stated

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit sharing documented

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated; FAR 01 flags declaration need

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-02AMS-II.G

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents