GS1366 Micro Energy PoA, VPA 3 Wema Improved Cookstoves, Kenya
GS-532 ↗ · current registry ID: GS3079
#90of 1329 in Industrial#7of 157 in Kenya#194of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)
Audit Analysis
A Gold Standard improved cookstove project in Kenya with a verified monitoring period showing 9,602 tCO2e of reductions, delivering roughly 135% of the pro-rata lifetime expectation. Additionality is supported by an investment test and safeguards (FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit sharing) are documented, but the project-specific baseline, absence of a stated buffer pool, 14 material findings, and four required corrective actions temper confidence. Data contradictions across documents—particularly in the additionality test type and crediting period—introduce moderate uncertainty.
Red Flags
- 14 material findings in the verification report, including inconsistencies in stove IDs and user names between distribution records and usage surveys, and sample size calculations requiring clarification to meet 90/10 precision
- Four corrective actions remain required, including provision of carbon right transfer agreements and inclusion of a survey question on immediate stove use after purchase
- Contradiction in additionality test type: the 2016 PDD describes a 'combined' test while the 2020 PDD describes an 'investment' test, with no explicit VVB verification recorded
- Crediting period end date is not stated in the verification report (only the start date of 2014-11-20 is given), while the 2020 PDD lists an end date of 2028-01-06
Credit Vintages Exhausted
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2014 | 95 | 95 | 0 | |
| 2015 | 2,980 | 2,980 | 0 | |
| 2016 | 1,590 | 1,590 | 0 | |
| Total | 4,665 | 4,665 | 0 |
Risk Indicators
Investment test present but not explicitly VVB-verified; contradiction between 'investment' (2020 PDD) and 'combined' (2016 PDD)
no reversal events recorded but permanence risk unaddressed
0% deduction deemed negligible—plausible for cookstoves but not quantified with a specific justification
Project-specific baseline, last reassessed 2016; not jurisdictional or standardised
FPIC conducted, grievance mechanism in place, benefit sharing described, safeguards explicitly documented
CORSIA eligibility and CCP status both not stated in available documents; dual-channel risk cannot be excluded
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →