Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticRwandaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

GS4424 VPA5 African Cookstoves and Water Programme

GS-995 ↗ · current registry ID: GS5637

#1071of 1329 in Industrial#100of 139 in Rwanda#1513of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.2/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
4.0
Claim Safety
4.0
Documentation
4.0

Audit Analysis

The African Cookstoves and Water Programme (VPA5, Rwanda) has a VVB-confirmed investment additionality test and a named verification body (SustainCERT), but is undermined by eight cross-document contradictions, seven material findings, a significant usage-rate discrepancy between the PDD assumption (99%) and the verified figure (52.74% or 0.83 depending on the source), and the absence of any stated buffer pool or baseline reassessment date. The low extraction confidence and the exact match between claimed and verified ERR (16,714 tCO₂e) raise questions about the depth of independent verification.

Red Flags

  • Usage rate assumed at 99% in the PDD but verified at 52.74 (verification report, 2023) or 0.83 (monitoring report, 2022) — a discrepancy of up to 47 percentage points that directly affects the magnitude of claimed emissions reductions
  • Seven material findings in the verification report, including inconsistent ICS unit counts across MR sections, an outdated TDR used for random sampling, and a missing definition of 'use' vs 'non-use' in the PDD
  • Baseline last reassessed date not found in any document; baseline method is project-specific rather than jurisdictional
  • Leakage justification contradicts itself across monitoring reports: 'deemed negligible' (2023) vs 'quantified' (2020), with a 0% deduction in both cases

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2015
1100110
2016
5,2475,2470
2017
7,7137,70310
2018
6,6696,536133
2019
6,0945,973121
2020
5,3375,28453
2021
3,5623,53824
2022
2,2692,22445
Total37,00136,505496

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed investment test

Permanence

no reversal data

Leakage

0% deduction; justification contradicts across reports

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessment date not stated

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism present (2023); FPIC not stated

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-04General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents