Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticMozambiqueGeneral Methodologyv2.1

GS5658 VPA 26: Promoting energy efficiency & clean cooking in Pemba

GS-2764 ↗ · current registry ID: GS10807

#976of 1329 in Industrial#27of 51 in Mozambique#1403of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.4/ 10
Integrity
4.2
Transparency
4.5
Claim Safety
5.0
Documentation
4.0

Audit Analysis

This Gold Standard cookstove project in Pemba, Mozambique has a VVB-verified additionality assessment and a quantified 12% leakage deduction, but is undermined by an extensive list of corrective actions and clarifications spanning emission-factor inconsistencies, GWP errors, usage-rate justification gaps, and multiple cross-document contradictions. The project-specific baseline lacks a stated reassessment date, and the ERR figures conflict across the verification and monitoring reports, reducing confidence in the claimed reductions.

Red Flags

  • The verification report (Dec 2025) lists over 30 corrective actions and clarifications, including inconsistent emission factors (29.988 vs 27.554), incorrect GWPs for post-2021 vintages, and leakage assessment requirements not fully met
  • Total ERR figures are contradictory: the monitoring report claims 28,610 tCO2e while the verification report records 8,371 tCO2e for the same period, and a separate 20,000 tCO2e figure (apparent cap for two VPAs) appears in the same verification report
  • The PDD (2020) states a 0% leakage deduction and 'deemed negligible' justification, while the 2025 verification report records a 12% quantified deduction — the earlier design assumption was not updated
  • Usage rate assumed in the PDD is 0.8, but the monitoring report and verification report use 0.9 without a clear documented justification for the increase
  • CORSIA eligibility and CCP status are not stated in any available document, leaving dual-channel risk unassessed

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2020
9129120
2021
4,1114,1110
2022
5,4514,2801,171
2023
9,4866028,884
2024
5,7815,7810
Total25,74115,68610,055

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-verified (2025) but test type unstated; 2023 report recorded unverified

Permanence

Cookstove project — no carbon-stock reversal risk

Leakage

12% quantified deduction with household-level justification

Baseline

Project-specific baseline; no reassessment date stated in available documents

Safeguards

FPIC and grievance mechanism confirmed (2025); PDD originally lacked grievance mechanism; benefit sharing described

Double-claim

CORSIA eligibility and CCP status not stated in any available document

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-10General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents