Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticEthiopiaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

GS5658 VPA 31: Improved Cookstoves for Environmental Conservation in Southern Ethiopia

GS-2947 ↗ · current registry ID: GS10988

#843of 1329 in Industrial#19of 36 in Ethiopia#1243of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.6/ 10
Integrity
4.8
Transparency
4.8
Claim Safety
4.5
Documentation
4.2

Audit Analysis

A Gold Standard cookstove project in Ethiopia with VVB-confirmed additionality and a quantified 5% leakage deduction, but undermined by 14 material findings, over 30 corrective actions, and a two-fold discrepancy in verified emission reductions between the monitoring and verification reports. The project-specific baseline, unspecified additionality test type, and unresolved crediting-period contradiction (5 years vs. 20 years) introduce meaningful uncertainty into the credit claims.

Red Flags

  • Verified ERR of 14,910 tCO2 in the verification report (Nov 2025) is double the 7,455 tCO2 reported in the monitoring report (Nov 2025) for the same period, indicating a material data-reliability issue.
  • 14 material findings (CARs) and over 30 corrective actions were raised, covering calculation errors, inconsistent methodology citations, missing baseline survey data, and misaligned SDG parameters.
  • Crediting period is stated as 2021–2026 (5 years) in the monitoring report but 2016–2036 (20 years) in the validation report, a fundamental discrepancy that affects the pro-rata ERR expectation.
  • Additionality test type is not specified in any available document, despite the VVB confirming additionality.
  • Leakage deduction is 5% in the verification report but 13.27% in the monitoring report, a 2.6× difference that is not explained.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
8,6818,66021
2022
9,0389,0380
2023
7,5496866,863
2024
5920592
Total25,86018,3847,476

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed but test type unspecified

Permanence

Energy-efficiency project, no reversal risk

Leakage

5% quantified deduction applied

Baseline

Project-specific, no reassessment date

Safeguards

Mentioned but FPIC and grievance details inconsistent

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-04General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents