Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticBurundiGeneral Methodologyv2.1

GS5658 VPA 38: Fuel-efficient cookstoves for the resilience of rural communities in Burundi

GS-3110 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11155

#627of 1329 in Industrial#2of 5 in Burundi#954of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.9/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
5.0
Documentation
4.5

Audit Analysis

A Gold Standard cookstove project in Burundi with VVB-confirmed additionality and a 5% quantified leakage deduction, but the verification report identified seven material findings and twenty corrective actions related to data inconsistencies in usage rates, stove distribution, emission factors, and SDG reporting. The project delivered approximately 91% of its pro-rata annual expectation, indicating reasonable credit delivery, but the volume of data-quality issues and contradictions between the PDD and monitoring report undermine confidence in the underlying MRV process.

Red Flags

  • Seven material findings in the 2024 verification report, including inconsistencies in usage rate reporting, stove distribution numbers, emission factor values, and adjustment factor calculations
  • Twenty corrective actions required, spanning coordinate errors, emission factor discrepancies, usage rate parameter inconsistencies, and SDG impact calculation errors
  • Usage rate assumed at 0.297 in the monitoring report versus 0.8 in an earlier document (2022), a factor-of-2.7 discrepancy that materially affects credit calculations
  • Leakage treatment changed from 'deemed negligible' (0%) in the 2020 PDD to a 5% quantified deduction in the 2024 monitoring report, indicating the original baseline assessment was incomplete
  • Crediting period stated as 2016–2036 in the PDD but 2021–2026 in the monitoring report, creating ambiguity about the applicable project lifetime for this VPA

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
8208200
2022
5,1325,1320
2023
7,3974,6462,751
Total13,34910,5982,751

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed but test type not specified

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

5% quantified deduction applied

Baseline

Project-specific, no reassessment date recorded

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism present, FPIC not conducted

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-04General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents