Skip to main content
GSavoidanceKenyaVintage 2023 Registry: Certified & creditingGeneral Methodologyv2.1

HomeBiogas Programme in Kenya

GS-3993 ↗ · current registry ID: GS12064

#158of 268 in Biogas#101of 157 in Kenya#1249of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.6/ 10
Integrity
4.0
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
5.0
Documentation
4.5

Audit Analysis

The HomeBiogas Programme in Kenya is a Gold Standard-certified biogas avoidance project with VVB-confirmed additionality and measured baselines, but is undermined by a serious material finding alleging the programme name was copied from an existing ABPL carbon activity, four corrective action requests, a 0% leakage deduction with contradictory justification across reports, and a verified credit delivery of only ~7% of the pro-rata annual expectation. The project's conservative usage-rate assumptions and local-field FNRB are positive, but the volume of data contradictions and unresolved double-claiming concerns limit confidence in the credit claims.

Red Flags

  • Material finding alleges the programme name is a direct copy of an ABPL programme whose carbon activities are still ongoing, raising a serious double-counting / intellectual-property concern
  • Four corrective action requests (CAR 01–04) were raised in the verification report, indicating unresolved compliance gaps at the time of verification
  • Leakage deduction is 0% with justification described as 'quantified' in the 2025 verification report but 'not addressed' in the 2024 verification report, creating uncertainty about whether leakage was ever properly assessed
  • Verified ERR of 21,251 tCO₂e represents only ~7% of the pro-rata annual expectation (~301,226 tCO₂e) derived from the lifetime ex-ante estimate of 1,506,129 tCO₂e over a 5-year crediting period, suggesting the ex-ante estimate may have been substantially overstated

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2022
3,2383,2380
2023
13,2738,3644,909
2024
21,251021,251
Total37,76211,60226,160

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed but test type not stated

Permanence

Avoidance project

Leakage

0% deduction; justification contradictory across reports

Baseline

Project-specific, measured; reassessment timing not stated

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit sharing confirmed

Double-claim

ABPL overlap alleged; CCP/CORSIA status not stated

Where to buy

Marketplaces

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-05General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents