Kirtland Hills Forest Carbon Offsets
#4of 389 in United States#1of 59 in City Forest Credits (CFC)
Audit Analysis
Kirtland Hills is a well-structured urban tree preservation project under the CFC standard with VVB-confirmed additionality, a 10% buffer pool, a quantified 18.3% leakage deduction, and a permanent conservation easement backing its 40-year permanence claim. The main concerns are a project-specific (rather than jurisdictional) baseline, a ~10% discrepancy between the PDD and validation report on the lifetime ERR, and the absence of stated CORSIA/CCP eligibility. Overall a solid but not exceptional credit with moderate residual risk.
Red Flags
- PDD (June 2024) reports a lifetime ERR of 7,412.4 tCO₂e while the validation report (August 2024) and verification report both state 6,671 tCO₂e — a ~10% discrepancy resolved in favour of the VVB-verified figure, but the initial overstatement in the PDD warrants scrutiny.
- Baseline is project-specific rather than jurisdictional or standardised, and no baseline reassessment date is recorded in the available documents.
- CORSIA eligibility and CCP status are not stated in any available document, leaving dual-channel risk unaddressed.
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 5,206 | 0 | 5,206 | |
| 2025 | 1,465 | 300 | 1,165 | |
| Total | 6,671 | 300 | 6,371 |
Risk Indicators
Combined test, VVB-confirmed
mixed evidence / unresolved risk
18.3% quantified deduction
Project-specific, reassessment date not stated
Safeguards and benefit sharing mentioned; FPIC and grievance mechanism not stated
CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →