Núcleos Carbono
#63of 124 in Colombia#49of 99 in CerCarbono (CC)
Audit Analysis
The Núcleos Carbono project is a Colombian forestry (Pinus/Cupressus) AFOLU project verified by ONAC-accredited ICONTEC, with a 15% buffer pool and VVB-confirmed additionality. However, the verification report flagged six material findings (all remediated), a reversal event for non-permanence risk, and contradictory leakage justifications across documents, while the low extraction confidence and several missing data fields limit assurance. The project is functional but carries moderate integrity and claim-safety risks typical of project-specific baselines in a non-international registry.
Red Flags
- Verification report (Oct 2024) reports a reversal event (22,385 tCO2e / 15% non-permanence deduction) while the monitoring report (Oct 2024) states no reversal events were reported — the two documents directly contradict each other on permanence risk.
- Leakage justification is inconsistent: the monitoring report (Oct 2024) states leakage is 'deemed negligible' with a 0% deduction, while the issuance document (Dec 2024) characterises it as 'quantified' — the basis for the 0% deduction is unclear.
- Six material findings (5 significant, 1 serious) were identified by the VVB, including unclear geographical boundaries, unproven land eligibility, missing methodology reference, and an unestablished monitoring database at the time of audit.
- Field observations in the verification report record dead trees, parcels outside project limits, and multiple DAP measurement errors, raising concerns about inventory accuracy.
- Minimum extraction confidence is rated 'low', indicating at least one key document was poorly readable, reducing overall data reliability.
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | 19 | 0 | 19 | |
| 2016 | 22 | 0 | 22 | |
| 2017 | 22 | 0 | 22 | |
| 2018 | 22 | 0 | 22 | |
| 2019 | 22 | 0 | 22 | |
| 2020 | 5,170 | 0 | 5,170 | |
| 2021 | 18,029 | 0 | 18,029 | |
| 2022 | 4,622 | 0 | 4,622 | |
| 2023 | 13,943 | 0 | 13,943 | |
| 2024 | 3,820 | 0 | 3,820 | |
| Total | 45,691 | 0 | 45,691 |
Risk Indicators
Combined test verified by ICONTEC
reversal event flagged in VR but contradicted by MR
0% deduction; justification inconsistent across documents
Project-specific baseline; reassessment timing not stated
Safeguards mentioned; FPIC and grievance mechanism not stated
CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →