Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticKenyaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Paradigm Healthy Cookstove and Water Treatment Project

GS-1280 ↗ · current registry ID: GS966

#1028of 1329 in Industrial#131of 157 in Kenya#1467of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.3/ 10
Integrity
4.2
Transparency
4.5
Claim Safety
4.0
Documentation
4.5

Audit Analysis

The Paradigm Healthy Cookstove and Water Treatment Project has confirmed additionality and basic safeguards in place, but is undermined by a 0% leakage deduction despite documented space-heating concerns, a 100% usage assumption versus a 64% verified rate, a non-conservative NRB value, and over 30 corrective actions indicating systemic monitoring and data-quality weaknesses. The project delivered roughly 116% of its pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the monitored year, so over-crediting is modest, but the underlying assumptions carry meaningful risk.

Red Flags

  • Usage rate assumed at 100% in the PDD but verified at only 64.06% in the 2015 monitoring report — a 36-percentage-point gap that inflates baseline emissions avoided.
  • Leakage deduction of 0% despite material findings identifying space-heating use of stoves in the wet season and potential NRB-fraction leakage for water treatment; the verification report (2014) labels leakage as 'quantified' while the 2013 monitoring report calls it 'deemed negligible.'
  • NRB value of 0.94 (CDM methodology) is materially less conservative than the 0.65 used in comparable Gold Standard Kenya projects, and Gold Standard acceptance of the CDM-based calculation was still pending at verification.
  • Over 30 corrective actions were required across verification cycles, including missing quarterly cross-checks, incomplete water-quality testing, surveyor data-entry errors, and inconsistencies between the monitoring report and PDD on emission factors and cluster definitions.
  • FNRB value contradicts between documents: 82.14 (national default, verification report 2011) versus 92.0 (local field, monitoring report 2017), and the method itself is inconsistent (national_default vs local_field).

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2010
1,5071,5070
2011
44,12144,06358
2012
173,130173,1300
2013
231,486231,270216
2014
342,843342,8430
2015
552,967548,1464,821
2016
230,956229,5111,445
Total1,577,0101,570,4706,540

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

0% deduction with unresolved space-heating concerns

Baseline

Project-specific baseline; reassessment date not stated

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit sharing documented

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-05General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents