Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticKenyaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 34

GS-3313 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11292

#921of 1329 in Industrial#113of 157 in Kenya#1345of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.5/ 10
Integrity
4.0
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
4.5
Documentation
4.0

Audit Analysis

The Safe Water Programme in Kenya has a VVB-confirmed investment additionality test and conservative usage-rate assumptions, but is undermined by a project-specific baseline, an unaddressed 0% leakage deduction, and 22 corrective actions flagging fundamental monitoring-methodology weaknesses (sampling design, potential bias in tablet-usage data, monitoring gaps). The material finding that actual reductions fall below the PDD's ex-ante estimate is reassuring for over-crediting risk, yet the breadth of unresolved methodological issues limits confidence in the verified figures.

Red Flags

  • 22 corrective actions required in the 2024 verification report, including concerns about systemic bias in chlorine-tablet usage data that could lead to overestimation of reductions
  • Leakage deduction of 0% with justification recorded as 'not addressed' in the most recent verification report (2024-09-21), contradicting an earlier 'deemed negligible' statement
  • Project-specific baseline with no documented reassessment date, and no buffer pool or permanence mechanism stated in available documents
  • Material finding in the 2024 verification report: actual emission reductions are lower than ex-ante estimates in the registered PDD, indicating the PDD's original projections were not conservative

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
56,29156,2910
2022
49,131049,131
2023
51,19723,08228,115
2024
59,059059,059
Total215,67879,373136,305

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed investment test

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

0% deduction, justification 'not addressed'

Baseline

Project-specific, no reassessment date stated

Safeguards

Grievance & benefit-sharing present; FPIC not stated

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents