Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticKenyaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 39

GS-3318 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11297

#752of 1329 in Industrial#86of 157 in Kenya#1127of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.7/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
4.5
Documentation
5.0

Audit Analysis

The Safe Water Programme in Kenya has verified additionality and documented safeguards, but is undermined by multiple material findings (sampling methodology gaps, potential chlorine-tablet bias), a leakage deduction that dropped from 5% in the PDD to 0% in monitoring without clear justification, and nine cross-document contradictions that erode confidence in the reported figures. The project is in its early crediting period with corrective actions still open, making the current credit volume carry elevated over-crediting risk.

Red Flags

  • Multiple material findings (CAR#01, CAR#02, FAR#1, FAR#2) flag potential overestimation of emission reductions due to chlorine-tablet usage bias and non-compliant sampling methodology
  • Leakage deduction reduced from 5% (PDD, 2020) to 0% (monitoring, 2024) with only a 'deemed negligible' justification — no quantitative re-assessment documented
  • Reversal events are explicitly 'not addressed' and no buffer pool percentage is stated in any available document
  • Nine contradictions across documents, including a 100× unit discrepancy in the FNRB value (93.51 vs 0.9351) and a shift in additionality test type from 'investment' (PDD) to 'combined' (validation)
  • Usage monitoring method deviates from the PDD: stratified random sampling was proposed but annual surveys were actually used

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
58,01024,59933,411
2022
49,95825,19924,759
2023
49,253049,253
2024
52,854052,854
Total210,07549,798160,277

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

reversals not addressed

Leakage

0% deduction; PDD had 5%; justification thin

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessment timing not stated

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit sharing documented

Double-claim

CCP and CORSIA status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-01General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents