Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticKenyaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 41

GS-3320 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11299

#1083of 1329 in Industrial#136of 157 in Kenya#1531of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.2/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
4.0
Claim Safety
3.5
Documentation
5.0

Audit Analysis

The Safe Water Programme in Kenya has a VVB-confirmed investment additionality test and a reasonable monitoring framework, but is undermined by a material finding that actual emission reductions fall below ex-ante estimates, a 0% leakage deduction with no justification, 23 outstanding corrective actions, and multiple contradictions across verification reports. The exact match between claimed and verified ERR figures (1,023,164 tCO₂e) raises concerns about independent verification rigor.

Red Flags

  • Material finding in the 2024 verification report states actual emission reductions are lower than ex-ante estimates in the registered PDD, yet claimed and verified figures are identical at 1,023,164 tCO₂e
  • Leakage deduction of 0% with justification recorded as 'not addressed' in the most recent (2024) verification report, contradicting an earlier 'deemed negligible' statement
  • 23 corrective actions remain outstanding, including sampling design non-compliance with CDM Appendix 3, potential systemic bias in chlorine tablet usage, and missing signed population confirmation letters
  • FNRB method contradicts between reports: 'national_default' in the 2024 verification report versus 'local_field' in a 2022 document, with no clear resolution

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
57,70657,7060
2022
50,477050,477
2023
47,137047,137
2024
46,889046,889
Total202,20957,706144,503

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed investment test

Permanence

low inherent reversal risk for water project

Leakage

0% deduction, justification not addressed

Baseline

Project-specific baseline, no reassessment date stated

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism present; FPIC not stated; contradictory reporting

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents