Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticKenyaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Safe Water Programme – Kenya – VPA 45

GS-3324 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11303

#1084of 1329 in Industrial#137of 157 in Kenya#1532of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.2/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
4.0
Claim Safety
4.0
Documentation
4.5

Audit Analysis

The Safe Water Programme in Kenya has a VVB-confirmed investment additionality test and a named verification body, but is undermined by a material finding that actual emission reductions fall below ex-ante estimates, a 0% leakage deduction with no justification in the most recent verification report, the absence of any buffer pool or permanence mechanism, and 24 outstanding corrective actions covering sampling methodology, data quality, and reporting gaps. The project carries moderate over-crediting risk and limited safeguards documentation.

Red Flags

  • Material finding in the 2024 verification report states actual emission reductions are lower than ex-ante estimates in the registered PDD, indicating potential over-crediting
  • Leakage deduction of 0% with justification recorded as 'not addressed' in the most recent verification report (September 2024), contradicting an earlier 'deemed negligible' statement
  • No buffer pool or permanence mechanism identified in any available document, leaving reversal risk unmitigated
  • 24 corrective actions remain open, including sampling design non-compliance with CDM Appendix 3, potential systemic bias in chlorine tablet usage, and missing operational-day evidence
  • Claimed and verified ERR figures are identical (1,023,164 tCO2e), raising questions about independent verification rigor

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
55,71455,7140
2022
45,79324,57521,218
2023
40,275040,275
2024
49,428049,428
Total191,21080,289110,921

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed investment test

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

0% deduction, justification not addressed (2024)

Baseline

Project-specific, no reassessment date stated

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing present; FPIC not stated

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents