Safe Water Programme – Nigeria – VPA 03
GS-3282 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11261
#926of 1329 in Industrial#60of 79 in Nigeria#1350of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)
Audit Analysis
The Safe Water Programme in Nigeria has a confirmed investment-test additionality and a named VVB, but is undermined by a severe FNRB discrepancy between verification cycles (82.3 national default vs. 0.96 local field), a 0% leakage deduction that the verification report itself labels 'not addressed,' the absence of any buffer pool, and 24 outstanding corrective actions. The project's claim safety is materially weakened by the unresolved FNRB contradiction and the project-specific baseline, making over-crediting risk a central concern.
Red Flags
- FNRB value changed from 0.96 (local field, 2023 verification) to 82.3 (national default, 2024 verification) — an ~86-fold difference that, if not a unit error, implies a fundamental shift in the emission factor underpinning all claimed reductions.
- Leakage deduction is 0% and the 2024 verification report (the higher-priority document) records the justification as 'not addressed,' while the monitoring report claims it was 'deemed negligible' — the VVB did not validate the negligible-leakage claim.
- 24 corrective actions remain open, including sampling-design non-compliance with CDM Appendix 3, unverified treatment-capacity values, and a typographical error that referenced Kenya instead of Nigeria for baseline parameters.
- Total ERR figures differ by nearly a factor of two between the 2023 and 2024 verification reports (647,669 vs. 1,232,137), and no lifetime ex-ante estimate is available to benchmark the pro-rata expectation.
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 51,406 | 51,406 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 56,148 | 55,026 | 1,122 | |
| 2023 | 42,812 | 39,327 | 3,485 | |
| 2024 | 37,468 | 0 | 37,468 | |
| Total | 187,834 | 145,759 | 42,075 |
Risk Indicators
Investment test confirmed by VVB
reversal risk unaddressed
0% deduction; justification 'not addressed' per VVB
Project-specific; no reassessment date recorded
Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing present; FPIC not stated; 24 open corrective actions
CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →