Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticNigeriaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Safe Water Programme – Nigeria – VPA 25

GS-3304 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11283

#928of 1329 in Industrial#62of 79 in Nigeria#1352of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.5/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
4.0
Documentation
4.5

Audit Analysis

The Safe Water Programme in Nigeria has a VVB-confirmed investment additionality test and a named verification body, but suffers from significant data-quality issues: a massive FNRB discrepancy between reporting periods (82.3 vs 0.96), a leakage deduction of 0% that the verification report marks as 'not addressed,' and 22 outstanding corrective actions. The project's claims are not yet robust enough to support high-confidence crediting.

Red Flags

  • FNRB value changed from 0.96 (local field measurement, 2023 report) to 82.3 (national default, 2024 report) — an 86-fold increase that is not explained in the extracted record and raises serious over-crediting risk
  • Leakage deduction of 0% with justification recorded as 'not addressed' in the 2024 verification report, contradicting the monitoring report's claim that leakage was 'deemed negligible'
  • 22 corrective actions remain open, including sampling methodology non-compliance with CDM Appendix 3, potential systemic bias in chlorine tablet usage, and unverified operational-day assumptions for different institution types
  • Buffer pool percentage and reversal-event history are not stated in any available document, leaving permanence risk unquantified
  • Baseline is project-specific with no recorded reassessment date, and no LCA or FPIC documentation was found

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
53,95453,9540
2022
53,29352,2281,065
2023
42,251042,251
2024
35,169035,169
Total184,667106,18278,485

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed investment test

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

0% deduction, justification 'not addressed' per VVB

Baseline

Project-specific, no reassessment date recorded

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing present; FPIC not stated

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status both unstated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents