Safe Water Programme – Nigeria – VPA 26
GS-3305 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11284
#990of 1329 in Industrial#65of 79 in Nigeria#1419of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)
Audit Analysis
The Safe Water Programme in Nigeria has a confirmed investment-test additionality and a named VVB, but is undermined by a severe emission-factor contradiction (82.3 vs 0.96 across verification cycles), an unaddressed 0% leakage deduction, the absence of any buffer pool, and 24 outstanding corrective actions. The project-specific baseline and the dramatic shift in the functional net reduction benefit value raise material over-crediting concerns that are not resolved by the verified usage rate exceeding the assumed rate.
Red Flags
- FNRB value changed from 0.96 (local field, 2023 verification) to 82.3 (national default, 2024 verification) — an approximately 86-fold difference that is unexplained and could indicate a unit error or a fundamental baseline parameter change
- Leakage deduction is 0% and the verification report (2024-07-25) records the justification as 'not addressed', while the monitoring report (2024-07-23) claims it was 'deemed negligible' — the higher-priority VVB document does not support the negligible claim
- 24 corrective actions remain open, including sampling-design non-compliance with CDM Appendix 3, unverified treatment-capacity values, and a typographical error referencing the wrong column for a key parameter
- Baseline is project-specific with no recorded reassessment date, and the baseline method was not independently measured versus modelled
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 53,854 | 53,854 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 50,100 | 49,099 | 1,001 | |
| 2023 | 40,099 | 0 | 40,099 | |
| 2024 | 35,304 | 0 | 35,304 | |
| Total | 179,357 | 102,953 | 76,404 |
Risk Indicators
Investment test confirmed by VVB
reversal risk unquantified
0% deduction, justification 'not addressed' per VVB
Project-specific; FNRB contradiction unresolved
Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing present; FPIC not stated
CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →