Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticMalawiGeneral Methodologyv2.1

UpEnergy-Social and Climate Impact Programme- Cooking Devices VPA-23

GS-4305 ↗ · current registry ID: GS12357

#94of 1329 in Industrial#17of 92 in Malawi#201of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

5.9/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
6.5
Claim Safety
6.0
Documentation
5.5

Audit Analysis

The UpEnergy cooking-stove project in Malawi has a VVB-confirmed additionality assessment and consistent usage-rate reporting, but is undermined by a project-specific baseline, a 0% leakage deduction with an internally inconsistent 'quantified' justification, the absence of any stated buffer pool or reversal-risk mechanism, and a substantial list of corrective actions and material findings across verification reports. Multiple cross-document contradictions—particularly on fNRB methodology, leakage justification, and crediting period—reduce confidence in the data trail.

Red Flags

  • No buffer pool or reversal-risk mechanism is stated in any available document, leaving permanence unsecured for a project whose credits depend on continued stove use over a finite lifespan.
  • Leakage deduction is 0% yet the 2025 verification report labels the justification as 'quantified' while the 2024 verification report called it 'deemed negligible'—the two characterisations are inconsistent and neither provides a transparent quantification.
  • The fNRB methodology is reported as 'national default' in the 2025 verification report but as 'local field' measurement in the 2022 validation report, raising questions about which basis the 0.78 factor actually rests on.
  • Thirteen corrective actions were required by the VVB, including a calculation-method error for charcoal moisture content, an inconsistent emission-reduction cap, and a failure to demonstrate compliance with activity requirements in the PDD.
  • The crediting period is stated as 2021–2028 in the 2024 monitoring report but 2026–2030 in the 2025 validation report, creating ambiguity about which period the verified credits actually cover.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2023
31,15724,4726,685
2024
59,053059,053
2025
5,19705,197
Total95,40724,47270,935

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

0% deduction, inconsistent justification

Baseline

Project-specific, reassessment date not stated

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit sharing documented

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-07General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents