Skip to main content
VCSavoidanceDominican RepublicVintage 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 Registry: RegisteredACM0007

UPGRADE OF DOMINICAN POWER PARTNERS’ LOS MINA POWER STATION FROM OPEN CYCLE TO COMBINED CYCLE POWER GENERATION

VCS-1103 ↗

#569of 1329 in Industrial#6of 6 in Dominican Republic#753of 1339 in Verra (VCS)#4of 8 in ACM0007

5.0/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
4.5
Documentation
4.5

Audit Analysis

The Los Mina combined-cycle upgrade project has a VVB-verified additionality assessment and quantified leakage treatment, but is undermined by a 27.5% under-delivery against ex-ante estimates, an incorrect methane GWP value (21 instead of 28), and five outstanding corrective actions. The project-specific baseline and multiple documentation gaps in the verification report reduce confidence in the claimed reductions. Overall, the project is credible in design but shows meaningful execution and reporting weaknesses.

Red Flags

  • Net GHG reductions are 27.51% lower than ex-ante estimates (1,144,395 vs 1,578,598 tCO2e) due to overestimated power generation and plant efficiency, per the verification report
  • Incorrect GWP value applied for methane (21 instead of 28), which understates methane-related emissions by roughly 33%
  • Five corrective actions remain open, including missing calibration certificates, PPA documentation, and stakeholder communication evidence
  • Start date discrepancy between the verification and monitoring reports, and methodology deviation regarding fuel measurement units noted in the verification report

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2017
230,56913,105217,464
2018
251,6428,673242,969
2019
253,72723,545230,182
2020
145,3883,571141,817
2021
229,5592,369227,190
Total1,110,88551,2631,059,622

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test; negative NPV without credits

Permanence

Energy-efficiency avoidance; no reversal risk applicable

Leakage

Quantified; limited to upstream emissions

Baseline

Project-specific baseline; reassessment timing not stated

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism present; FPIC not stated

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents

Where to buy

Marketplaces

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-04ACM0007

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents