Alden Forest Carbon Offsets
#49of 389 in United States#22of 59 in City Forest Credits (CFC)
Audit Analysis
Alden Forest (Crowley Oaks) is a 40-year urban tree preservation project under the CFC standard with a VVB-confirmed combined additionality test, a substantial 18.3% quantified leakage deduction, and a 10% buffer pool. The primary concerns are the project-specific baseline, the full lifetime credit (7,709 tCO₂e) verified in the first 3-year monitoring period, and several MRV details (FNRB method, usage monitoring) not stated in the available documents. Material findings regarding a project-area discrepancy were identified and corrected by the operator.
Red Flags
- Full lifetime credit of 7,709 tCO₂e was verified in the first 3-year monitoring period out of a 40-year crediting period, meaning 100% of the ex-ante lifetime estimate was issued in the first period (13.3× the pro-rata expectation of ~578 tCO₂e for 3/40 of the period).
- Project-specific baseline with no stated reassessment date; the verification report does not confirm when the baseline was last validated.
- Material finding: 8.64 acres and 17 plots of excess area in the operator's project boundary versus the DRG sampling design, requiring updates to six project documents.
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 7,709 | 3,395 | 4,314 | |
| Total | 7,709 | 3,395 | 4,314 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-confirmed combined test
mixed evidence / unresolved risk
18.3% quantified deduction
Project-specific, no reassessment date stated
Mentioned but FPIC and grievance mechanism not detailed
CORSIA and CCP status not stated
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →