Skip to main content
PURAlternative Materials OtherUnited KingdomGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Avonmouth Production Facility

PUR-756292 ↗

#1of 9 in United Kingdom#17of 111 in Puro.earth (PUR)

5.3/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
4.5
Documentation
6.0

Audit Analysis

The Avonmouth carbonated materials project has a VVB-verified investment additionality test and documented end-use tracking, but suffers from a project-specific baseline, completely unaddressed leakage, and three material findings including a RECs eligibility issue. The verified ERR for the most recent 3-month monitoring period (1,574 tCO₂e) is roughly 42% of the pro-rata expectation derived from the prior full-year figure (14,873 tCO₂e), raising questions about production consistency. Multiple MRV parameters (FNRB, usage rate, ex-ante lifetime estimate) are absent from the record.

Red Flags

  • Leakage is entirely unaddressed: no deduction percentage and no justification appear in any available document, despite the project type (alternative materials production) where displaced material or process changes could generate leakage.
  • Material finding: RECs certificates used in the project are not eligible under Puro's clarification CL023 CMA, and a FAR corrective action was issued requiring future RECs to meet Puro eligibility requirements.
  • The verified ERR dropped from 14,873 tCO₂e (full-year period, Dec 2024 report) to 1,574 tCO₂e (3-month period, Apr 2026 report), which is only ~42% of the pro-rata expectation (~3,718 tCO₂e), suggesting a significant production or methodology change that is not explained in the extracted record.
  • Safeguards documentation is inconsistent: the December 2024 verification report states safeguards are mentioned, while the December 2025 report states they are not; no FPIC or grievance mechanism is confirmed.

Credit Vintages Exhausted

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2023
5,9205,9200
2024
13,77413,7740
2025
4,7144,7140
Total24,40824,4080

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-verified investment test

Permanence

End-use tracked

Leakage

No deduction or justification found

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessment date not stated

Safeguards

No FPIC, no grievance mechanism; inconsistent across reports

Double-claim

CORSIA false; CCP status not stated

Where to buy

Marketplaces

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-03General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents