Skip to main content
VCSAgriculture Forestry and Other Land UseEthiopia Registry: RegisteredVM0015

Bale Mountains Eco-region REDD+ project

VCS-1340 ↗

#172of 261 in Soil carbon#25of 36 in Ethiopia#1092of 1339 in Verra (VCS)#21of 29 in VM0015

4.2/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
4.0
Claim Safety
4.5
Documentation
3.5

Audit Analysis

The Bale Mountains REDD+ project has a VVB-verified additionality assessment and no reported reversal events, but is undermined by an extensive list of material findings (over 40 items), a 9× discrepancy in the KML project-area shapefile, a buffer pool reduction from 15% to 10%, a shift in leakage treatment from quantified to deemed negligible, and unresolved double-counting concerns with overlapping OFLP and ICS projects. The project delivered 124% of the pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the 2020–2021 monitoring period, which is reassuring, but the data-quality and documentation gaps significantly erode confidence in the underlying figures.

Red Flags

  • KML shapefile area of 3 million hectares did not match the stated project boundary of 333,924 hectares — a 9× discrepancy that calls into question the spatial basis of all ERR calculations
  • Buffer pool reduced from 15% (2017 verification) to 10% (2024 verification) without a clearly documented justification in the extracted record
  • Leakage treatment shifted from 'quantified' (2021 verification) to 'deemed negligible' with a 0% deduction (2024 verification), a material weakening of the leakage safeguard for a REDD+ project in a high-deforestation-risk region
  • Unclear assessment of double-counting risk with overlapping OFLP and ICS projects; corrective action required to verify cookstove distribution linkage to certified ICS projects
  • Baseline last reassessment date not stated in any available document; the 10-year reassessment milestone (project start 2012) appears to have passed before the November 2024 verification

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2012
460,000460,0000
2013
348,716348,7160
2014
1,155,8421,155,8420
2015
769,547757,54712,000
2016
6,621,1715,610,8471,010,324
2020
17,90816,8281,080
Total9,373,1848,349,7801,023,404

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed investment test

Permanence

10% buffer, no reversals, but pool reduced from 15%

Leakage

0% deduction, deemed negligible, shifted from quantified

Baseline

Project-specific, reassessment date not stated

Safeguards

FPIC and grievance present, but extensive documentation gaps

Double-claim

CORSIA/CCP not stated; OFLP/ICS overlap unresolved

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-08VM0015

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents