Skip to main content
GSBiomass, or Liquid Biofuel - ElectricityIndiaAMS-I.D

Biomass based power plant in Mahendargarh, Haryana

GS-2036 ↗ · current registry ID: GS7548

#219of 352 in Biomass#853of 975 in India#1545of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#518of 806 in AMS-I.D

4.1/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
4.0
Claim Safety
3.5
Documentation
4.5

Audit Analysis

This Gold Standard biomass power plant project in Haryana, India has a VVB-verified investment additionality test and no critical findings, but is undermined by six corrective action requests, a 15-year-old grid emission factor (2009) applied to a 2024 monitoring period, a 0% leakage deduction labelled 'quantified,' and eight cross-document contradictions including a material discrepancy in claimed ERR figures (113,457 vs 250,625). The absence of a buffer pool, unaddressed reversal risk, and CORSIA eligibility without a stated CCP status create meaningful over-crediting and dual-channel exposure.

Red Flags

  • Grid emission factor of 0.8401 is from 2009 — 15 years old — yet applied to a 2024 monitoring period, raising serious baseline validity concerns
  • Six corrective action requests (CAR 01–06) were raised in the verification report, indicating recurring compliance deficiencies
  • Claimed ERR of 113,457 (monitoring report, Nov 2024) contradicts 250,625 (appendix, Jul 2024) — a 121% discrepancy with no verified ERR to adjudicate
  • CORSIA-eligible with CCP status not stated, creating dual-channel crediting risk
  • No buffer pool and reversal events described as 'not addressed' in the 2024 verification report, leaving permanence risk unmitigated

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2019
11,026011,026
2020
57,89621757,679
2021
58,1201,16256,958
2022
44,44588843,557
Total171,4872,267169,220

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-verified investment test

Permanence

reversal risk unaddressed

Leakage

0% deduction labelled 'quantified'; prior report said 'not addressed'

Baseline

Project-specific baseline; grid EF from 2009; method contradicts PDD

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit-sharing confirmed in 2024 VR but contradicted in 2020 MR

Double-claim

CORSIA-eligible; CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-01AMS I.D.

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents