Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticNigeriaAMS-II.G

CPA # 2 Improved Cooking Stoves for Nigeria, GS 1352

GS-210 ↗ · current registry ID: GS1352

#427of 1329 in Industrial#15of 79 in Nigeria#682of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#83of 189 in AMS-II.G

5.1/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
4.5
Documentation
5.5

Audit Analysis

This Gold Standard improved cooking stove PoA in Nigeria has a VVB-verified additionality assessment and a quantified 5% leakage deduction, but suffers from a project-specific baseline, no stated buffer pool, contradictory reversal-event reporting, and self-reported usage monitoring. Multiple ERR figure discrepancies across monitoring and verification reports, combined with CORSIA eligibility and an unknown CCP status, elevate over-crediting and dual-channel risk. The project is functional but carries moderate data-reliability concerns that temper confidence in the claimed reductions.

Red Flags

  • Reversal events are described as 'reported' in the 2022 verification report but 'not addressed' in the 2024 verification report, and no buffer pool percentage is stated in any available document, leaving permanence risk unquantified.
  • Usage monitoring relies on self-reporting (2024 verification report) rather than independent verification, and neither the assumed nor verified usage rate is stated in the extracted record, weakening the evidentiary basis for emission reductions.
  • The project is CORSIA-eligible while its CCP status is not stated in any available document, creating an unresolved dual-channel allocation risk.
  • Multiple ERR figures conflict across documents (e.g., 26,905 tCO₂e verified in 2020 vs. 62,459 tCO₂e verified in 2018; 5,781 tCO₂e claimed in 2023 vs. 20,229 tCO₂e claimed in 2022), and the 2024 verification report itself notes that GS passport values do not match CDM monitoring report figures.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2012
5990599
2013
5,69805,698
2014
7,72907,729
2015
8,56208,562
2016
9,16109,161
2017
7,92607,926
2018
7,21807,218
2019
7,82707,827
2020
6,54406,544
2021
6,0456,0450
2022
3,6753,387288
Total70,9849,43261,552

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

reversal reporting inconsistent

Leakage

5% quantified deduction

Baseline

Project-specific; last reassessed 2014

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit sharing documented

Double-claim

CORSIA-eligible; CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-01AMS II.G.

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents