Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticNigeriaAMS-II.G

CPA # 3 Improved Cooking Stoves for Nigeria, GS 1353

GS-211 ↗ · current registry ID: GS1353

#661of 1329 in Industrial#33of 79 in Nigeria#1007of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#111of 189 in AMS-II.G

4.8/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
5.0
Documentation
5.0

Audit Analysis

This Gold Standard improved cooking stove project in Nigeria has a confirmed additionality assessment and a quantified 5% leakage deduction, but is undermined by an extensive history of data inconsistencies, calculation errors, and unresolved permanence concerns. The project is CORSIA-eligible with no stated CCP status, creating double-claiming risk, and the monitoring period extends beyond the stated crediting period end date. Most corrective actions were resolved, but the project appears operationally dormant with no new stove sales during the latest monitoring period.

Red Flags

  • Permanence risk unaddressed: reversal events listed as 'not addressed' and no buffer pool percentage stated in available documents, despite the inherent risk of stove abandonment or breakage in a domestic cooking project
  • CORSIA eligibility confirmed with CCP status not stated, creating potential for dual-channel credit use without clear exclusivity safeguards
  • Monitoring period (Jul 2021–Jun 2022) extends seven months beyond the stated crediting period end date (Nov 2021), raising questions about the validity of credits issued for that overlap
  • Extensive material findings across multiple verification cycles include efficiency calculation errors, duplicate stove serial numbers, and inconsistencies in emission reduction calculations between the monitoring report and ER spreadsheet
  • Project appears operationally dormant: no new stoves sold during the latest monitoring period due to safety and conflict conditions, with significantly elevated drop-out rates

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2012
2890289
2013
2,77702,777
2014
5,52605,526
2015
5,77305,773
2016
5,62905,629
2017
5,78105,781
2018
5,89105,891
2019
6,11106,111
2020
5,90405,904
2021
5,5925,5920
2022
2,7952,7950
Total52,0688,38743,681

Risk Indicators

Additionality

Combined test, VVB-confirmed

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

5% quantified deduction

Baseline

Project-specific, no reassessment date

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit sharing documented

Double-claim

CORSIA-eligible, CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-10AMS II.G.

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents