Skip to main content
GSBiomass, or Liquid Biofuel - HeatKenyaAMS-I.E

CPA-KE-001 KIBERA

GS-1898 ↗ · current registry ID: GS7498

#159of 352 in Biomass#99of 157 in Kenya#1218of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#44of 60 in AMS-I.E

4.6/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
4.5
Claim Safety
5.2
Documentation
4.2

Audit Analysis

The Kibera household cooking project demonstrates VVB-confirmed additionality and a quantified 5% leakage deduction, but is undermined by a project-specific baseline, unaddressed reversal risk, a large volume of material findings (several explicitly not closed), and a low extraction confidence across 28 documents. The verified ERR figures are internally inconsistent across monitoring periods, and key parameters such as the ex-ante lifetime estimate, buffer pool, and CORSIA/CCP status are absent from the record.

Red Flags

  • Multiple material findings are explicitly noted as 'not closed' in the verification report, including calculation errors in SDG net-benefit sections and missing data linkages
  • Reversal events are listed as 'not addressed' and no buffer pool percentage is stated, leaving permanence risk unquantified for a biomass project
  • Crediting period end date is missing in the most recent verification report (2022) and contradicted by the validation report (2019) which lists 2071-05-28, a likely placeholder
  • Extraction confidence is rated low, meaning at least one key document was poorly readable, reducing reliability of all extracted figures
  • The assumed usage rate from the PDD is not stated in the extracted record, preventing a direct comparison with the 0.70 verified rate

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2017
1,52101,521
2018
14,169014,169
2019
15,592015,592
2020
19,945019,945
Total51,227051,227

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

5% quantified deduction

Baseline

Project-specific, no reassessment date

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit sharing documented

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-10AMS I.E.

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents