Skip to main content
GSBiomass, or Liquid Biofuel - HeatKenyaAMS-I.E

CPA-KE-009 KENYA

GS-1913 ↗ · current registry ID: GS7505

#52of 352 in Biomass#24of 157 in Kenya#411of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#17of 60 in AMS-I.E

5.4/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
5.0
Documentation
6.0

Audit Analysis

A Gold Standard household cooking-stove PoA in Kenya with a VVB-confirmed additionality test and a quantified 5% leakage deduction, but significant gaps in permanence (no buffer pool stated, reversal risk not addressed) and a project-specific baseline with no documented reassessment. Multiple contradictions across monitoring reports and the crediting period dates introduce data-reliability concerns that temper confidence in the verified emission reductions.

Red Flags

  • No buffer pool percentage is stated in any available document, and reversal events are explicitly marked as not addressed — a material permanence gap for a biomass cooking-stove project where households can revert to traditional fuels.
  • The crediting period is contradictory: the validation report (2019) states 2014-05-28 to 2071-05-28 (57 years), while the verification report (2022) states 2017-11-21 with no end date. This makes pro-rata verification of the 62,727 tCO₂e figure unreliable.
  • Two monitoring reports disagree on claimed ERR: 100,918 tCO₂e (Dec 2021) versus 65,995 tCO₂e (Nov 2022), a 35% discrepancy that was not reconciled in the verification report.
  • Baseline last reassessment date is not stated in any document; for a project-specific baseline this is a transparency and validity concern.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2017
3,96303,963
2018
36,969036,969
2019
40,739040,739
2020
52,114052,114
Total133,7850133,785

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed common-practice test

Permanence

reversal risk not addressed

Leakage

5% quantified deduction applied

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessment date not stated

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit sharing documented

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-01AMS I.E.

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents