Duzce Aksu Hydro Electricity Power Plant
#25of 26 in Türkiye#1061of 1339 in Verra (VCS)#1131of 1287 in ACM0002
Audit Analysis
The Duzce Aksu hydro project is a VCS-registered avoidance project with a jurisdictional baseline and VVB-verified investment additionality test, but it is undermined by a significant additionality concern (the plant was operational in 2014 yet not registered until 2020), a reservoir-area error of roughly three orders of magnitude, 16 corrective action requests during verification, and an overall low extraction confidence in the underlying documents. The project delivered roughly 58% of the pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the elapsed monitoring period, which is conservative, but the absence of stated CORSIA/CCP status and the crediting-period contradiction between the PDD and the verification report leave material uncertainty about the credit's integrity.
Red Flags
- Project was operational since 2014 but not registered until 2020, raising serious questions about whether carbon finance was genuinely needed for additionality.
- Reservoir surface area (APJ) was corrected from 708,202 m² to 707 m² (a factor of ~1,000 error) due to a formatting/character-language mistake, indicating a fundamental data-quality failure in the monitoring report.
- 16 Corrective Action Requests were raised and resolved during the 2025 verification, including inconsistencies in electricity generation figures, an incorrect project-type description (identified as wind power), and outdated emission-factor sources.
- Crediting period is contradictory: the verification report (Oct 2025) states 2014-04-25 to 2024-04-24, while the PDD (Sep 2025) states 2024-04-25 to 2034-04-24, and a material finding flags 'incorrect crediting period selection in the PD.'
- CORSIA eligibility and CCP status are not stated in any available document, leaving dual-channel or double-claiming risk unassessed.
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2014 | 32,916 | 32,916 | 0 | |
| 2015 | 61,243 | 61,243 | 0 | |
| 2016 | 53,709 | 53,709 | 0 | |
| 2017 | 49,418 | 49,418 | 0 | |
| 2018 | 42,996 | 36,856 | 6,140 | |
| 2019 | 94,713 | 3 | 94,710 | |
| 2020 | 52,527 | 14,963 | 37,564 | |
| Total | 387,522 | 249,108 | 138,414 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-verified but operational before registration
Avoidance project; reversal not addressed
0% deduction, reasonable for hydro avoidance
Jurisdictional, reassessed 2024
FPIC conducted, grievance mechanism present
CORSIA and CCP status not stated
Where to buy
Marketplaces
+ Know where to buy this?
Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →