Skip to main content
VCSAgriculture Forestry and Other Land UseUruguay Registry: RegisteredAR-ACM0001

Forteko afforestation on degraded grasslands under extensive grazing

VCS-962 ↗

#117of 261 in Soil carbon#10of 15 in Uruguay#843of 1339 in Verra (VCS)#4of 8 in AR-ACM0001

4.8/ 10
Integrity
5.2
Transparency
4.8
Claim Safety
4.8
Documentation
4.2

Audit Analysis

The Forteko afforestation project in Uruguay has a verified additionality test and a 10% buffer pool with no reversal events, but is undermined by a project-specific baseline, a 0% leakage deduction whose justification is contradicted by the VVB's own material findings, and a heavy load of 28 verification findings (18 non-conformities). The project delivered only about 10% of its pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the elapsed monitoring period, and the low extraction confidence across 19 documents limits assurance in the underlying data.

Red Flags

  • Leakage deduction of 0% justified as 'deemed negligible' while the VVB's own material findings flag 'Missing information on assessing leakage due to activity displacement' — a direct contradiction that undermines the 0% claim
  • 28 verification findings including 18 non-conformities (NCRs) covering calculation errors, missing equations, area corrections (16,928 ha → 16,553.31 ha), and template non-conformances, all resolved but indicating systemic data-quality weaknesses
  • Ex-ante lifetime estimate contradicts between documents by a factor of 100 (453,491,421 in the verification report vs 4,534,914 in the monitoring report), creating uncertainty about the true baseline projection
  • FPIC status is contradictory: the 2024 verification report confirms FPIC was conducted, but the 2013 validation report records it as not conducted, and a material finding notes 'Unclear validation of FPIC requirements'
  • Baseline reassessment timing is not stated in any available document; the project started in July 2007, making the first 10-year reassessment due by July 2017, yet no evidence of completion is found in the extracted record

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2007
289,186281,8747,312
2013
10,000010,000
2014
5,00005,000
2015
5,00005,000
2016
5,00005,000
2017
5,00005,000
2018
5,00005,000
2019
5,00005,000
2020
5,00005,000
2021
9,49309,493
Total343,679281,87461,805

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

10% buffer, no reversals

Leakage

0% deduction, justification contradicted by VVB findings

Baseline

Project-specific, reassessment not documented

Safeguards

FPIC confirmed but contradicted; grievance mechanism present

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-09AR-ACM0001

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents