GS10789 VPA3: Efficient and Clean Cooking for households in Kenya
GS-2749 ↗ · current registry ID: GS10792
#492of 1329 in Industrial#57of 157 in Kenya#789of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)
Audit Analysis
A Gold Standard household cookstove project in Kenya with confirmed additionality and documented safeguards, but undermined by the absence of any buffer pool or permanence tracking, a 67% downward revision of the non-renewable biomass fraction (fNRB) between reporting cycles, and an unusually high volume of material findings and corrective actions that point to significant data-quality and internal-consistency problems across the project's documentation.
Red Flags
- No buffer pool or reversal-event tracking is reported for an energy-efficiency project where stove failure or household reversion creates genuine permanence risk; the 11.7% of stoves not in active use (100% − 88.33% usage rate) is unmitigated.
- The fNRB value was revised downward from 0.8933 (local field measurement, 2024 verification report) to 0.29 (national default, 2026 verification report) to meet CCP labelling requirements — a 67% reduction that calls into question whether earlier credits were over-claimed.
- Over 50 material findings and 40+ corrective actions were logged across the verification and validation cycles, including inconsistencies in emission-reduction values, stove sales figures, ex-ante parameters, and SDG impact estimates between the PDD, monitoring reports, and ER calculation sheets.
- Leakage treatment changed from 'deemed negligible' with a 0% deduction (2024 verification report) to a 5% default deduction (2026 verification report), indicating the earlier assessment was insufficient.
- CORSIA eligibility is not stated in any available document, leaving the dual-channel risk unassessed.
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 24,970 | 0 | 24,970 | |
| 2022 | 90,850 | 0 | 90,850 | |
| 2023 | 169,754 | 0 | 169,754 | |
| 2024 | 109,628 | 103 | 109,525 | |
| 2025 | 28,040 | 0 | 28,040 | |
| Total | 423,242 | 103 | 423,139 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-confirmed combined test
mixed evidence / unresolved risk
5% quantified deduction applied
Project-specific, measured; fNRB revised 67%
FPIC, grievance, benefit sharing documented
CCP approved; CORSIA not stated
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →