Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticMalawiAMS-II.G

GS11677 GS11902 Malawi Biomass Energy Conservation Programme CPA 21

GS-3941 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11921

#31of 1329 in Industrial#5of 92 in Malawi#98of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#11of 189 in AMS-II.G

6.2/ 10
Integrity
6.8
Transparency
5.8
Claim Safety
6.2
Documentation
5.8

Audit Analysis

A Gold Standard cookstove programme in Malawi with a confirmed investment-test additionality assessment, a quantified 5% leakage deduction, and no reversal events. However, multiple cross-document contradictions in ERR figures, crediting period dates, and usage-rate units create meaningful uncertainty about the project's true credit volume and baseline parameters. The project is fundamentally sound in design but suffers from documentation inconsistencies that limit confidence in the reported figures.

Red Flags

  • Crediting period is stated as 2016-2025 in the monitoring report but 2021-2036 in the validation report — a 15-year discrepancy that undermines confidence in the project's temporal boundaries and pro-rata credit calculations.
  • Total ERR claimed appears as 243,647 in the monitoring report but 760,155 in the verification report (both dated 2024-12-03); total ERR verified appears as 243,647 in the verification report but 1,529,125 in the financial document — the basis of these figures (annual vs. cumulative) is not clarified.
  • Baseline is project-specific with no stated reassessment date, and the baseline last reassessed field is not found in any available document.
  • CORSIA eligibility and CCP status are both not stated in any available document, leaving dual-channel risk unassessed.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
26,1092,23623,873
2022
19,512019,512
2023
9,09109,091
Total54,7122,23652,476

Risk Indicators

Additionality

Investment test, VVB-confirmed

Permanence

Energy efficiency, no reversals

Leakage

5% quantified deduction

Baseline

Project-specific, no reassessment date

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance, SDGs documented

Double-claim

CORSIA & CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-02AMS-II.G

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents