Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticUgandaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

GS1247 VPA 138 BioLite Improved Stove Programme, Uganda

GS-1434 ↗ · current registry ID: GS6344

#363of 1329 in Industrial#35of 163 in Uganda#585of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

5.2/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
6.2
Claim Safety
5.0
Documentation
5.8

Audit Analysis

The BioLite improved stove programme in Uganda has a verified additionality test and a recently reassessed project-specific baseline, but the verification report reveals that 10 of 15 stoves inspected were faulty (broken combustion chamber and/or spoilt fan), which directly undermines the claimed emissions reductions. The leakage deduction was reduced from 5% in the PDD to 0% in the 2024 verification report, and a prior over-crediting adjustment of 693 VERs was applied, raising over-crediting concerns. Multiple open corrective actions and forward action requests indicate ongoing operational and documentation gaps.

Red Flags

  • 10 out of 15 stoves inspected during the 2024 verification were found faulty (broken combustion chamber and/or spoilt fan), meaning two-thirds of the sampled stoves may not be displacing baseline fuel use as claimed
  • Leakage deduction reduced from 5% in the PDD (2023) to 0% in the 2024 verification report; the 'quantified' justification for the 0% figure is not detailed in the extracted record
  • A prior over-crediting adjustment of 693 VERs was applied to the 2019 vintage, indicating historical over-estimation of emissions reductions
  • Crediting period end date is not stated in the 2024 verification report (listed as open-ended from 22/01/2017), creating uncertainty about the project's temporal boundaries
  • Multiple open Forward Action Requests (FAR 01–05) remain unaddressed, including evaluation of SDG indicators at VPA level and submission of an fNRB report

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2017
1,5001,5000
2018
2,7502,7500
2019
3,1663,1660
2020
4,8834,8830
2021
5,0865,0860
2022
6,0156,0150
2023
5,7105805,130
Total29,11023,9805,130

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed barrier test

Permanence

Energy-efficiency project; no sequestration reversal risk

Leakage

0% deduction; PDD had 5%; justification not detailed

Baseline

Project-specific baseline; reassessed 2024

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit sharing documented

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-03General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents