Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticEthiopiaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

GS1247 VPA 166 Southern Ethiopia Community Safe Water

GS-1428 ↗ · current registry ID: GS7288

#522of 1329 in Industrial#10of 36 in Ethiopia#820of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

5.0/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
4.8
Claim Safety
4.8
Documentation
4.5

Audit Analysis

A Gold Standard community safe-water / domestic energy-efficiency project in Ethiopia with VVB-confirmed additionality and no reported reversal events, but undermined by nine cross-document contradictions (including a 10× discrepancy in claimed ERR between the 2023 monitoring report and the 2026 verification report), a 0% leakage deduction labelled 'quantified,' six open corrective actions, and low extraction confidence across 32 source documents. The project's core design is sound, but data reliability and monitoring rigour raise material concerns about the robustness of the credit claims.

Red Flags

  • Claimed ERR of 1,939 tCO₂e in the 2026 verification report contradicts 21,874 tCO₂e in the 2023 monitoring report — a 10× discrepancy that cannot be reconciled without the lifetime ex-ante estimate (not found in any document).
  • Leakage deduction is 0% yet the justification is labelled 'quantified' in the 2026 verification report, while the 2023 verification report described it as 'deemed negligible' — the two characterisations are inconsistent and a 0% deduction for a multi-borehole water project warrants scrutiny.
  • Six corrective actions remain open for the next monitoring period, including the requirement to document borehole downtime, capture seasonal variation in usage surveys, and clarify the approach for claiming above 300 users per borehole.
  • Minimum extraction confidence is rated 'low,' indicating at least one key document was poorly readable, which undermines confidence in the extracted figures.
  • CORSIA eligibility and CCP status are not stated in any available document, leaving dual-channel risk unassessed.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2019
1,0651,0650
2020
5,0121,8583,154
2021
2,9182,88830
2022
1,9904471,543
2023
4560456
Total11,4416,2585,183

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

0% deduction with inconsistent justification

Baseline

Project-specific, reassessed 2024, FNRB method contradicted

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance mechanism, and safeguards documented

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-10General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents