GS1247 VPA 198 Improved Kitchen Regimes Manica Province Safe Water (Mozambique)
GS-1844 ↗ · current registry ID: GS7470
#1060of 1329 in Industrial#33of 51 in Mozambique#1502of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)
Audit Analysis
This Gold Standard cookstove and safe-water project in Mozambique has VVB-confirmed additionality and a conservative national-default fNRB, but is undermined by 13 cross-document contradictions, an extensive list of unresolved corrective actions spanning multiple verification cycles, and a 0% leakage deduction that conflicts with the PDD's own 5% figure. The low extraction confidence and contradictory monitoring-method descriptions further erode confidence in the MRV chain.
Red Flags
- 13 contradictions across key parameters (fNRB value, leakage deduction, usage rate, crediting period, ERR figures) indicate inconsistent or unreliable data across the project's document set
- Leakage deduction of 0% with a 'deemed negligible' justification in the 2023 verification report directly contradicts the PDD's 5% deduction, and no quantified leakage analysis is provided for a cookstove project where displaced fuel can be used elsewhere
- Over 40 corrective actions and clarifications remain on record across multiple verification cycles, including missing carbon transfer agreements for 11 of 240 boreholes, missing lab tests for 40 boreholes, and unsigned monitoring survey forms
- Minimum extraction confidence is rated low, meaning at least one key document was poorly readable, reducing reliability of the extracted data
- CORSIA eligibility and CCP status are not stated in any available document, leaving dual-channel risk unassessed
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 2,699 | 2,699 | 0 | |
| 2020 | 7,959 | 7,959 | 0 | |
| 2021 | 5,149 | 4,932 | 217 | |
| 2022 | 4,934 | 0 | 4,934 | |
| 2023 | 9,517 | 0 | 9,517 | |
| 2024 | 4,017 | 226 | 3,791 | |
| Total | 34,275 | 15,816 | 18,459 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-confirmed combined test
mixed evidence / unresolved risk
0% deduction contradicts PDD 5%; no quantified analysis
Project-specific baseline; reassessed 2023
FPIC, grievance mechanism, safeguards documented
CORSIA and CCP status not stated
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →