Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticUgandaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

GS1247 VPA 49 Improved Kitchen Regimes:Kaliro Safe Water Project

GS-808 ↗ · current registry ID: GS4553

#830of 1329 in Industrial#104of 163 in Uganda#1229of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.6/ 10
Integrity
5.0
Transparency
4.5
Claim Safety
4.5
Documentation
4.0

Audit Analysis

The Kaliro Safe Water Project (VPA 49) is a Gold Standard energy-efficiency project displacing thermal energy for water heating, with VVB-confirmed additionality and no reversal events. However, the project is undermined by a 0% leakage deduction with an internally contradictory justification, a project-specific baseline, over 50 corrective actions and clarifications flagging calculation errors and data inconsistencies, and 12 documented contradictions across verification, monitoring, and design documents. The overall picture is of a project with a sound conceptual design but weak execution and documentation quality.

Red Flags

  • Leakage deduction of 0% in the 2024 verification report contradicts the 5% stated in the PDD, and the justification shifts between 'quantified' (verification report) and 'deemed negligible' (monitoring report) — a water project where users may revert to alternative water sources warrants a non-zero deduction
  • Crediting period (2014–2021 per the 2022 verification report; 2015–2022 per the 2024 monitoring report) ends before the 2023–2024 monitoring period, raising questions about whether credits are being issued outside the approved crediting window
  • ERR figures differ by a factor of ~5 between the 2023 verification report (3,054) and the 2024 verification report (592); if these cover comparable two-year periods this represents an ~81% decline, though the 2023 figure may cover both VPAs (35 and 49) combined
  • Over 50 corrective actions and clarifications were raised, including errors in ER calculation sheets, inconsistent monitoring period references, incorrect fNRB sourcing, and missing monitoring evidence — indicating systemic documentation and calculation weaknesses
  • CCP status and CORSIA eligibility are not stated in any available document, leaving the double-claiming risk unassessed

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2015
1,2571,2570
2016
10,00310,0030
2017
10,00010,0000
2018
10,00010,0000
2019
8,4118,4110
2020
2,7312,319412
2021
1,9481,406542
2022
1,31501,315
Total45,66543,3962,269

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

0% deduction, contradictory justification

Baseline

Project-specific, fNRB locally measured

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance mechanism, benefit sharing documented

Double-claim

CCP and CORSIA status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-03General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents