Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticBurkina FasoGeneral Methodologyv2.1

GS1340 Efficient cookstoves in Burkina Faso - VPA-02 - tiipaalga F3PA cookstoves in Bam and Loroum

GS-1399 ↗ · current registry ID: GS3516

#704of 1329 in Industrial#24of 33 in Burkina Faso#1056of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.8/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
4.0
Documentation
4.5

Audit Analysis

A Gold Standard cookstove project in Burkina Faso with VVB-confirmed additionality and a quantified 5% leakage deduction, but undermined by a striking 24.8× over-delivery relative to the ex-ante lifetime estimate, 17 corrective actions, unresolved FPIC contradiction, and security-driven monitoring gaps. The project's core design is sound, yet data quality and claim-consistency issues significantly erode confidence in the reported emission reductions.

Red Flags

  • Verified ERs of 82,535 tCO2e for a single monitoring year (2022) are 24.8× the pro-rata expectation of ~3,332 tCO2e derived from the 33,316 tCO2e lifetime ex-ante estimate over a 10-year crediting period — an extreme over-delivery that warrants scrutiny.
  • 17 corrective actions were required in the 2024 verification report, including hidden rows in the ER spreadsheet, GWP value errors (AR5 used instead of AR4), and inconsistencies between estimated ERs and registered VPA DDs.
  • FPIC status is contradictory: the 2022 PDD states it was conducted, while the 2023 verification report records it as not conducted. The more recent verification report is privileged, leaving FPIC unconfirmed.
  • Onsite verification visits were postponed due to security instability in Burkina Faso, with remote audits used as a deviation; an onsite visit is deferred to the next periodic verification.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2015
1,9641,9640
2016
5,4945,39599
2017
9,5689,5680
2018
9,5059,5050
2019
8,1472,9615,186
2020
9,56309,563
2021
4,6681,4553,213
2022
1,8722421,630
Total50,78131,09019,691

Risk Indicators

Additionality

Combined test, VVB-confirmed

Permanence

durability risk unquantified

Leakage

5% quantified deduction with justification

Baseline

Project-specific baseline; reassessment date not stated

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism present; FPIC unconfirmed per 2023 VR

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-03General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents