Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticBurkina FasoGeneral Methodologyv2.1

GS1340 Efficient cookstoves in Burkina Faso - VPA-06 - tiipaalga F3PA cookstoves in Bam and Loroum

GS-618 ↗ · current registry ID: GS3520

#312of 1329 in Industrial#10of 33 in Burkina Faso#510of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

5.3/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
5.5
Documentation
5.0

Audit Analysis

A Gold Standard cookstove efficiency project in Burkina Faso with a VVB-verified combined additionality test and a quantified 5% leakage deduction, but undermined by a project-specific baseline, no buffer pool, significant security-related monitoring gaps, and a material discrepancy between the 2023 and 2024 verification reports on verified emission reductions (169,085 vs 82,535 tCO₂e). Sixteen corrective actions and multiple material findings indicate ongoing data-quality and reporting issues that temper confidence in the claimed credits.

Red Flags

  • Verified ERR dropped from 169,085 tCO₂e (2023 verification) to 82,535 tCO₂e (2024 verification) — a 51% reduction that is not clearly explained by a change in monitoring scope or stove population
  • 2,162 households removed from the database due to stove condition while 55 sampled households could not be visited due to insecurity and were scored as 0% users, raising questions about true usage rates
  • FPIC status is contradictory: the PDD (2022) records FPIC as conducted, but the 2023 verification report records it as not conducted
  • 16 corrective actions remain open, including requirements for an on-site visit, grievance log evidence, and clarification of monitoring-period references

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2015
1,9621,9593
2016
5,2054,217988
2017
9,3308,814516
2018
9,0941818,913
2019
7,92507,925
2020
10,0005999,401
2021
9,8603,0576,803
2022
10,0001,2928,708
Total63,37620,11943,257

Risk Indicators

Additionality

Combined test, VVB-verified

Permanence

2,162 stoves removed

Leakage

5% quantified deduction

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessment not stated

Safeguards

FPIC contradictory; grievance present

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-03General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents