Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticBurkina FasoGeneral Methodologyv2.1

GS1340 Efficient cookstoves in Burkina Faso - VPA-16 - Improved Cookstove F3PA project in Nahouri

GS-2737 ↗ · current registry ID: GS10780

#537of 1329 in Industrial#18of 33 in Burkina Faso#835of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

5.0/ 10
Integrity
5.0
Transparency
4.5
Claim Safety
5.5
Documentation
5.0

Audit Analysis

This Gold Standard cookstove project in Burkina Faso has a sound core methodology with VVB-confirmed additionality and a quantified 5% leakage deduction, but is undermined by 20 material findings in the verification report, significant contradictions across documents (ERR figures, FPIC status, safeguards), and a project-specific baseline without a stated reassessment date. The overall picture is one of a methodologically reasonable project whose reporting quality and data consistency fall well below the standard expected for a verified credit.

Red Flags

  • 20 material findings in the verification report, including a formula error in the monitoring survey sheet affecting Up and DFb values, SDG value discrepancies between the MR and supporting spreadsheets, and missing technical specifications for the stoves
  • FPIC status contradicts between the PDD (conducted) and the verification report (not conducted); the more recent and authoritative verification report indicates FPIC was not carried out
  • Total ERR verified figure of 169,085 in the 2023 verification report versus 49,827 in the 2024 verification report — a 3.4× discrepancy that is not explained in the extracted record
  • Buffer pool percentage and reversal event history are not stated in any available document, leaving permanence risk unquantified
  • Usage survey for the 2022 monitoring period was conducted in 2023, introducing a timing gap that the verification report only partially justified

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2020
9,2622,6786,584
2021
10,0009,835165
2022
10,0009,673327
2023
10,0009,800200
Total39,26231,9867,276

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

5% quantified deduction

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessment date not stated

Safeguards

FPIC not conducted; grievances present but inconsistently documented

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-03General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents