Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticBeninGeneral Methodologyv2.1

GS2489 – Efficient cookstoves in Benin and Togo – VPA2 – EcoBénin – Wanrou efficient cookstoves in Atacora/Donga region

GS-1048 ↗ · current registry ID: GS6008

#50of 1329 in Industrial#3of 7 in Benin#130of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

6.1/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
6.5
Claim Safety
6.5
Documentation
6.0

Audit Analysis

A Gold Standard cookstove efficiency project in Benin with a combined additionality test, quantified 5% leakage deduction, and no reported reversal events. The project delivered approximately 57% of its pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the elapsed monitoring period, indicating conservative crediting. Several data contradictions across documents—particularly on leakage rates and safeguards documentation—warrant caution, and the project-specific baseline with no stated reassessment timing limits confidence in baseline robustness.

Red Flags

  • Leakage deduction figure is contradictory: the 2023 verification report records 0.95 (ambiguous unit) while the 2025 monitoring report records 5%; the true deduction rate is unclear from the extracted record
  • Safeguards documentation is contradictory: the verification report (2025-07-25) confirms safeguards are mentioned, but the monitoring report of the same date states they are not; the VVB assessment is privileged but the discrepancy undermines confidence
  • Additionality was assessed via a combined test, but explicit VVB confirmation of the additionality finding is not stated in the extracted record

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2016
31310
2017
2,9092,9090
2018
6,3576,31542
2019
8,0938,0930
2020
6,7736,653120
2021
6,3376,3370
2022
6,7606,7600
2023
6,7745,907867
Total44,03443,0051,029

Risk Indicators

Additionality

Combined test applied; VVB confirmation not explicitly stated

Permanence

No reversal events

Leakage

5% quantified deduction per 2025 monitoring report

Baseline

Project-specific; no reassessment date stated

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism and benefit sharing present; FPIC not stated; doc contradiction

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-04General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents