GS4424 VPA3 African Cookstoves and Water Programme
GS-993 ↗ · current registry ID: GS5635
#1150of 1329 in Industrial#112of 139 in Rwanda#1604of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)
Audit Analysis
A Gold Standard cookstove project in Rwanda with VVB-confirmed additionality and a verified ERR that exceeds the pro-rata expectation for the monitoring period. However, a large gap between the PDD's assumed 99% usage rate and the 52.74% verified rate, seven material findings in the verification report, and a direct contradiction between the monitoring report and verification report on the verified usage rate (83% vs 52.74%) raise significant data-reliability and over-crediting concerns.
Red Flags
- Verified usage rate of 52.74% (verification report, 2023) is less than half the 99% assumed in the PDD, indicating the ex-ante estimate was built on an unrealistically high adoption assumption.
- Direct contradiction between the monitoring report (2022) reporting a verified usage rate of 0.83 (83%) and the verification report (2023) reporting 52.74% — a 30-percentage-point gap that undermines confidence in the MRV chain.
- Seven material findings in the verification report, including inconsistent stove counts across MR sections, an outdated tracking document used for random sampling, and a missing definition of 'use' vs 'non-use' in the PDD.
- Low extraction confidence across the document set, meaning at least one key document was poorly readable and some facts may be incomplete.
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | 113 | 113 | 0 | |
| 2016 | 5,226 | 5,186 | 40 | |
| 2017 | 7,728 | 7,717 | 11 | |
| 2018 | 6,706 | 6,572 | 134 | |
| 2019 | 6,128 | 6,007 | 121 | |
| 2020 | 5,344 | 5,238 | 106 | |
| 2021 | 3,547 | 3,524 | 23 | |
| 2022 | 2,260 | 2,215 | 45 | |
| Total | 37,052 | 36,572 | 480 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-confirmed investment test
mixed evidence / unresolved risk
0% deduction, deemed negligible; earlier MR said quantified
Project-specific baseline; reassessment timing not stated
Grievance mechanism and benefit-sharing present; FPIC not stated
CORSIA and CCP status not stated in available documents
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →