Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticMadagascarGeneral Methodologyv2.1

GS5658 VPA 13: Water is Life, Madagascar

GS-2111 ↗ · current registry ID: GS7567

#1019of 1329 in Industrial#13of 26 in Madagascar#1455of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.3/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
3.8
Claim Safety
4.2
Documentation
4.8

Audit Analysis

This Gold Standard PoA VPA in Madagascar displaces decentralized thermal energy (water heating) with a project-specific baseline and a 0% leakage deduction whose justification is contradictory across documents. The verification report covers nine VPAs simultaneously, making the verified ERR figure (64,317) incomparable to the VPA-13 ex-ante lifetime estimate (40,145), and the additionality test type is not stated in the extracted record. Multiple corrective actions and the absence of a physical site visit (remote audit only) further erode confidence in the data quality.

Red Flags

  • Verified ERR of 64,317 is ~24× the pro-rata expectation (~1,964) for the 4-month monitoring period against the 40,145 lifetime ex-ante estimate, almost certainly because the verification report aggregates all nine VPAs in the PoA rather than VPA 13 alone — the figures are not on the same basis.
  • Additionality test type and VVB confirmation are not stated in any extracted document, leaving the additionality claim unverified in the available record.
  • Leakage justification is contradictory: the verification report (2023-12-22) says 'quantified' while the monitoring report (2023-12-20) says 'deemed negligible', yet the deduction is 0% in both cases.
  • No physical site visit was conducted due to COVID-19; only remote audit calls were performed, and a Follow-up Action Request (FAR 01) was raised to require a site visit in the next period.
  • The verification report is dated 2023-12-22, which falls inside the monitoring period (ending 2023-12-31), raising questions about whether the verification was completed before the period closed.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2020
1,6881,6880
2021
9,2999,2990
2022
7,7587,7580
2023
7,1355,7821,353
2024
4,93204,932
Total30,81224,5276,285

Risk Indicators

Additionality

Test type not stated in extracted record

Permanence

Energy-efficiency project, no reversal risk

Leakage

0% deduction, contradictory justification

Baseline

Project-specific, no reassessment date found

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism confirmed post-PDD; FPIC not conducted

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-04General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents