Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticUgandaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

GS5658 VPA 36: “Access to energy for local development and resilience building in Uganda”

GS-3031 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11043

#548of 1329 in Industrial#66of 163 in Uganda#846of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

5.0/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
5.0
Documentation
5.0

Audit Analysis

This Gold Standard domestic energy-efficiency project in Uganda has VVB-confirmed additionality and documented safeguards, but is undermined by a project-specific baseline, a 0% leakage deduction, and a verification report containing 15 material findings including three corrective-action requests for calculation errors and a crediting-period mismatch. The project delivered roughly 124% of its pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the most recent monitoring period, suggesting the baseline estimate was slightly conservative. Overall, the project is functional but carries moderate data-reliability and baseline-robustness risks.

Red Flags

  • Three Corrective Action Requests (CARs) in the verification report flag calculation errors in MR Table 2, crediting-period mismatch between the MR and the VPA-DD/SC application, and calculation errors for NPy and Project Estimate in MR Section E2 — indicating material MRV weaknesses.
  • Leakage deduction is 0% despite the project type (domestic stove distribution) where displaced fuel use outside the project boundary is plausible; the PDD characterises leakage as 'deemed negligible' while the 2023 monitoring report calls it 'quantified', creating an unresolved inconsistency.
  • No buffer-pool percentage or permanence mechanism is stated in any available document, leaving reversal risk for the 5-year crediting period unaddressed in the extracted record.
  • The additionality test type is not identified in the extracted record, so the specific basis (investment, regulatory, or barrier test) cannot be independently assessed.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2022
6,8876,8870
2023
9,5857,7851,800
2024
1,44801,448
Total17,92014,6723,248

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed but test type not stated

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

0% deduction, inconsistent justification across docs

Baseline

Project-specific, no reassessment date stated

Safeguards

Grievance & benefit-sharing present, FPIC not stated

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-04General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents