Household biogas plants installed in rural areas of Madhya Pradesh , India
GS-1919 ↗ · current registry ID: GS7510
#63of 268 in Biogas#485of 975 in India#610of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#22of 60 in AMS-I.E
Audit Analysis
A Gold Standard household biogas project in rural Madhya Pradesh with VVB-confirmed additionality, a quantified 5% leakage deduction, and no reversal events, but undermined by a project-specific baseline, a 30% downward revision of the ex-ante lifetime estimate between PDD versions, a contradiction in the fNRB method (local field vs. national default), and over twenty corrective actions flagging calculation and reporting inconsistencies. The project delivered roughly 92% of its pro-rata expectation for the 2024 monitoring period, which is within a reasonable band, but the volume of unresolved documentation issues and the low extraction confidence of the source records limit confidence in the overall data quality.
Red Flags
- The ex-ante lifetime emission reduction estimate dropped from 256,041 tCO₂e (PDD, Dec 2019) to 178,453 tCO₂e (PDD, Aug 2024), a 30% reduction, without a clearly documented justification in the extracted record.
- The fNRB method is reported as 'local field' in the 2025 verification report but as 'national default' in the 2024 PDD, creating uncertainty about which value underpins the credit calculation.
- Over twenty corrective actions were raised by the VVB, including inconsistencies in net emission reduction values between MR sections, a missing consolidated calculation sheet, and an unclear derivation of the ex-ante estimate.
- The verified usage rate is 97.77% per the 2025 monitoring report but 92% per the 2025 verification report, a 5.8-percentage-point gap that affects the credit calculation.
- Minimum extraction confidence across the 24 source documents is rated low, meaning at least one key document was poorly readable and the structured data may be incomplete.
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | 22,966 | 22,966 | 0 | |
| 2019 | 42,052 | 42,052 | 0 | |
| 2020 | 49,017 | 48,718 | 299 | |
| 2021 | 44,406 | 43,519 | 887 | |
| 2022 | 44,070 | 42,038 | 2,032 | |
| 2023 | 17,597 | 0 | 17,597 | |
| Total | 220,108 | 199,293 | 20,815 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-confirmed combined test
Avoidance project, no reversals
5% quantified deduction
Project-specific, reassessed 2024
Grievance & benefit sharing present; FPIC not stated
CORSIA & CCP status not stated
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →